A forum devoted to track events from 60m to the 2 mile. Mainly pro but also news from local, national and international sprint & middle distance competitions.

Log in

I forgot my password


Display results as :

Rechercher Advanced Search

Latest topics
» Stawell Gift Final - where do we stand?
Today at 8:22 pm by YETI

» Past "Bill Howard Winners"
Today at 5:53 pm by Todd Ireland

» Stawell Accommodation Available 3km from the track
Today at 12:29 pm by timrosen35

» Euroa Results
Yesterday at 11:13 pm by JH

» Adjusted times
Yesterday at 2:37 pm by Fast

» Euroa Gift
Fri Mar 16, 2018 10:06 pm by Bang bang

» Doncaster Gift
Wed Mar 14, 2018 3:52 pm by HarryWho

» New Massage Business in Bayside Melbourne
Wed Mar 14, 2018 2:31 pm by Foles

» Interstate Women’s Marks
Tue Mar 13, 2018 7:53 pm by Thatsthestats

March 2018

Calendar Calendar

You are not connected. Please login or register

PROTRACK » GENERAL » Australian Commonwealth Games team announced

Australian Commonwealth Games team announced

Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

1 Australian Commonwealth Games team announced on Tue Aug 24, 2010 10:55 am


Seventy-five set to fly the flag in New Delhi

Four athletes have today been added to the final list of nominations submitted to the ACGA for inclusion in the XIX Commonwealth Games in New Delhi, India, in October.

Youcef Abdi (3000m steeplechase), Mitchell Kealey (1500m), Kaila McKnight (1500m) and Olivia Tauro (4x400m relay) were today put forward to the ACGA for inclusion in the team following the close of the qualifying period last Sunday, August 15.

The additions take to 75 the total number of athletes nominated to the Commonwealth Games athletics team, which includes 11 athletes with a disability.

2008 Olympic finalist and 2009 world championships representative Youcef Abdi becomes Australia’s sole steeplechase contender at the Games, the New South Welshman on track for his third straight Commonwealth Games appearance after lining up in the 1500m in Manchester (GBR) in 2002 and the 3000m steeplechase in Melbourne in 2006.

Queenslander Mitch Kealey moves into the highly sought-after 1500m berth vacated by the injured Jeff Riseley (plantar fascia), joining Ryan Gregson and Jeremy Roff in the hotly-contested event.

Twenty-six-year-old Kealey, who placed fourth over 1500m at the national championships in April and has represented Australia over the distance at the 2001 IAAF world youth championships, 2007 World University Games and 2008 Olympic Games, will make his Commonwealth Games debut in New Delhi.

Kealey will be one of 35 of the 64 able-bodied Australians nominated to the team to make their Commonwealth Games debut this October, alongside newly-nominated teammates Kaila McKnight and Olivia Tauro.

McKnight, the national 1500m record-holder, will fly the flag for Australia in the 1500m after posting an A-qualifying time over the distance at the KBC Night of Athletics meet in Heusden (BEL) in July.

Twenty-year-old Tauro, who won bronze in the 4x400m relay at the 2008 IAAF world junior titles in Bydgoszcz (POL), will join newly-nominated relay runner Lauren Boden and 2009 world championships relay representatives Jody Henry, Tamsyn Lewis and Pirrenee Steinert in the women’s 4x400m relay.

National 400m hurdles champion Boden was today added to the women’s 4x400m relay team after being named to the one-lap hurdles event in the first round of team nominations in April.

The 75-strong Australian athletics team will be spearheaded by world, Olympic, world indoor and Commonwealth Games champion Steve Hooker (pole vault), world champion Dani Samuels (discus throw), world indoor champion Fabrice Lapierre (long jump), Olympic medallists Sally Pearson (100m hurdles) and Jared Tallent (20km walk) and 29 fellow members of last year’s IAAF world championships team, the most successful Australian outfit in the history of the worldwide meet.

The squad features a true mix of youth and experience with 16-year-old pole vaulter Liz Parnov, who took silver in the event at the Youth Olympic Games in Singapore (SIN) at the weekend, the youngest athlete nominated to the team and track veteran Patrick Johnson (4x100m relay) the oldest at 37.

Adding a wealth of experience to the squad will be Tamsyn Lewis (4x400m relay) in her fifth Commonwealth Games squad, while hammer thrower Karyne Di Marco has been nominated for her fourth Commonwealth Games campaign and Johnson (4x100m relay), Luke Adams (20km walk) and Petrina Price (high jump) have each been nominated for their third Games appearance.

Hooker will join John Steffensen (400m, 4x400m relay), Scott Martin (shot put, discus throw) and the men’s and women’s 4x400m relay teams in defence of their Commonwealth Games crowns this October.

In a blow to the 75-strong Australian athletics team, 1500m athlete Jeff Riseley and 400m hurdles star Tristan Thomas (achilles) have withdrawn from the meet after succumbing to injury in the all-important lead-up to the Games, while T54 1500m athlete Christie Dawes has withdrawn from the team as she celebrates news of the impending arrival of her first child.

The Australian team has a busy schedule ahead of its arrival in New Delhi with the IAAF Continental Cup (September 4-5), Great North City Games (September 18-19) and IAAF Oceania Championships (September 23-25) all featuring on the calendar in the countdown to the Commonwealth titles.

Men (45)
100m: Aaron Rouge-Serret (22, Vic)
200m: Matt Davies (25, Qld)
400m: Ben Offereins (24, WA), John Steffensen (27, NSW), Joel Milburn (24, NSW)
800m: Lachlan Renshaw (23, NSW), Ryan Gregson (20, NSW)
1500m: Gregson, Mitchell Kealey (26, Qld), Jeremy Roff (26, NSW)
5000m: Ben St Lawrence (28, NSW), Collis Birmingham (25, Vic), David McNeill (23, Vic)
10,000m: Birmingham
Marathon: Martin Dent (31, ACT), Jeff Hunt (27, NSW), Michael Shelley (26, Qld)
3000m steeplechase: Youcef Abdi (32, NSW)
400m hurdles: Brendan Cole (28, ACT)
High jump: Liam Zamel-Paez (21, Qld)
Pole vault: Steve Hooker (27, WA)
Long jump: Fabrice Lapierre (26, NSW), Chris Noffke (22, Qld), Mitchell Watt (22, Qld)
Shot put: Scott Martin (27, Vic), Dale Stevenson (22, Vic)
Discus throw: Benn Harradine (27, Vic), Martin, Julian Wruck (18, Qld)
Hammer throw: Tim Driesen (26, Vic), Simon Wardhaugh (24, Qld)
Javelin throw: Jarrod Bannister (25, Vic)
20km walk: Luke Adams (33, NSW), Chris Erickson (28, Vic), Jared Tallent (25, Vic)
T46 100m: Gabriel Cole (18, SA), Heath Francis (28, ACT), Simon Patmore (22, Qld)
T54 1500m: Richard Colman (25, Vic), Kurt Fearnley (29, NSW), Jake Lappin (17, Vic)
F32/34/52 shot put: Damien Bowen (25, ACT), Hamish MacDonald (35, ACT)
4x100m relay: Davies, Jacob Groth (24, NSW), Patrick Johnson (37, Qld), Isaac Ntiamoah (27, NSW), Rouge-Serret
4x400m relay: Milburn, Kevin Moore (19, NSW), Offereins, Steffensen, Sean Wroe (25, Vic)

Women (30)
100m: Melissa Breen (19, ACT)
1500m: Kaila McKnight (24, Vic)
5000m: Eloise Wellings (27, NSW)
10,000m: Wellings
100m hurdles: Hayley Butler (26, NSW), Sally Pearson (nee McLellan, 23, Qld)
400m hurdles: Lauren Boden (21, ACT)
Marathon: Lisa Flint (25, NSW), Lisa Weightman (31, Vic)
High jump: Ellen Pettitt (24, WA), Petrina Price (26, NSW)
Pole vault: Amanda Bisk (24, WA), Alana Boyd (26, WA), Liz Parnov (16, WA)
Shot put: Joanne Mirtschin (29, ACT)
Discus throw: Dani Samuels (22, NSW)
Hammer throw: Karyne Di Marco (32, NSW), Bronwyn Eagles (29, NSW), Gabrielle Neighbour (26, Vic)
Javelin throw: Kimberley Mickle (25, WA), Kathryn Mitchell (27, Vic)
20km walk: Jessica Rothwell (20, Vic), Claire Tallent (28, SA), Cheryl Webb (33, NSW)
T37 100m: Jodi Elkington (16, Vic)
F32-34/52/53 shot put: Louise Ellery (33, Vic), Brydee Moore (19, Vic)
4x400m relay: Boden, Jody Henry (25, WA), Tamsyn Lewis (31, Vic), Pirrenee Steinert (25, NSW), Olivia Tauro (20, NSW)

"Let's Go While We're Young"

Back to top  Message [Page 1 of 1]

Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum