A forum devoted to track events from 60m to the 2 mile. Mainly pro but also news from local, national and international sprint & middle distance competitions.

Log in

I forgot my password


Display results as :

Rechercher Advanced Search

Latest topics
» Geelong Results
Today at 12:40 am by JH

» Avondale Heights Results
Fri Feb 23, 2018 1:08 pm by Ribera

Fri Feb 23, 2018 12:17 pm by racingmania

» Geelong Men's Gift
Thu Feb 22, 2018 9:13 pm by El Chapo Guzman

» Stawell Gift Final - where do we stand?
Wed Feb 21, 2018 10:02 am by YETI

» NSWAL Website is down. Corowa scheduled for this weekend.
Tue Feb 20, 2018 9:49 am by Admin

» VAL Website
Tue Feb 20, 2018 9:47 am by Admin

» 2018 Australian Athletics Championships men & women 100m/200m
Sun Feb 18, 2018 7:43 pm by untouchables

» VRTA Sprinter of the Year Progressive
Sun Feb 18, 2018 10:47 am by JH

February 2018

Calendar Calendar

You are not connected. Please login or register

PROTRACK » GENERAL » Aussie Athletes set to go in Kawasaki

Aussie Athletes set to go in Kawasaki

Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

1 Aussie Athletes set to go in Kawasaki on Fri May 06, 2011 11:39 am



From the AA Website

Watt to headling green and gold brigade in Kawasaki

Australian long jump champion Mitchell Watt will join a green and gold brigade of more than 20 athletes at the Golden Grand Prix in Kawasaki (JAP) this Sunday, May 8.

Taking to the runway in career best form after soaring 8.44m (w: +1.5), a new personal best and the current world leading mark, to win the national crown only three weeks ago, the world and world indoor championships bronze medallist Watt will be joined in the men’s long jump by Robbie Crowther and Henry Frayne.

Crowther also heads to Japan with a new personal best (8.05m, w: +2.4), whilst Frayne, who burst into the Australian All-Time List for triple jump at the Briggs Athletics Classic late February, is set to return from a heel injury that forced his withdrawal from the Australian Athletics Championships.

A trio of Australians also feature on the women’s long jump start list, with Kerrie Perkins, Linda Allen and Jessica Penney all set to soar.

On track, triple 2011 national champion Sally Pearson and national 100m and 200m champion Aaron Rouge-Serret will lead the women’s and men’s 4x100m relay teams respectively.

Clocking 44.05 and 44.02 in Sydney during March, the women’s team is edging unbelievably close to the IAAF world championships qualifier of 44 seconds, with Pearson to start alongside three of Laura Whaler, Crystal Attenborough, Charlotte Van Veenendaal and Melissa Breen.

Already qualified for the IAAF world championships, the men’s team in Kawasaki also includes Daegu-bound athletes Matt Davies, Isaac Ntiamoah and Anthony Alozie. Liam Gander rounds out the travelling squad of five.

In the individual events, national champions Lauren Boden and Brendan Cole will burst out of the blocks in the 400m hurdles, Sean Wroe and Kevin Moore will join Davies in the men’s 200m whilst James Gurr and national 800m champion James Kaan battle it out across two-laps.

Doubling as Round 3 of the IAAF World Challenge, the Golden Grand Prix will also feature Stawell Gift starter Kim Collins (100m), dual world indoor champion Lolo Jones (100m hurdles) and local hero Koji Murofoshi, the 2004 Olympic gold medallist, in the men’s hammer throw.

Golden Grand Prix
Kawasaki (JAP)
Sunday, May 8

2:25pm (3:25pm AEST)
W long jump: Jessica Penney, Linda Allen, Kerrie Perkins

M javelin throw: Hamish Peacock

2:35pm (3:35pm AEST)
W 400m hurdles: Lauren Boden

3:05pm (4:05pm AEST)
W 4x100m relay: Sally Pearson, Laura Whaler, Charlotte Van Veenendaal, Melissa Breen, Crystal Attenborough (final team to be decided)

3:15pm (4:15pm AEST)
M 4x100m relay: Aaron Rouge-Serret, Matt Davies, Isaac Ntiamoah, Liam Gander, Anthony Alozie (final team to be decided)

3:30pm (4:30pm AEST)
M 400m hurdles: Brendan Cole

3:45pm (4:45pm AEST)
M 800m: James Kaan, James Gurr
M long jump: Mitchell Watt, Robbie Crowther, Henry Frayne

4:25pm (5:25pm AEST)
M 200m: Matt Davies, Sean Wroe, Kevin Moore

4:35pm (5:35pm AEST)
M 100m: Aaron Rouge-Serret

4:45pm (5:45pm AEST)
W 100m: Melissa Breen

Back to top  Message [Page 1 of 1]

Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum