A forum devoted to track events from 60m to the 2 mile. Mainly pro but also news from local, national and international sprint & middle distance competitions.

Log in

I forgot my password


Display results as :

Rechercher Advanced Search

Latest topics
» Parkdale Results
Yesterday at 8:30 pm by JH

» 2018 Womens' 120m Stawell Gift
Yesterday at 8:12 pm by Admin

» 2018 Stawell Gift Form Guide is coming.......SOON
Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:08 pm by Hurricane

» VRTA Awards Dinner. 2017/2018 Season. Save the Date - Saturday 28th April 2018.
Fri Mar 23, 2018 5:25 pm by mwebster

» Stawell Gift Final - where do we stand?
Fri Mar 23, 2018 4:48 pm by timrosen35

» VRTA Points - Top 10's after Bendigo.
Thu Mar 22, 2018 1:16 pm by Downesy

» Stawell Gift 2018 - 98 athletes return from 2017
Wed Mar 21, 2018 4:01 pm by Admin

» Bunbury Gift entries close 9th of April
Mon Mar 19, 2018 2:37 pm by Pro Pasto

» Past "Bill Howard Winners"
Sun Mar 18, 2018 5:23 pm by Todd Ireland

March 2018

Calendar Calendar

You are not connected. Please login or register

PROTRACK » GENERAL » McCabe wins the Ballarat Gift; Taylor wins a double

McCabe wins the Ballarat Gift; Taylor wins a double

Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]


2011 Ballarat Gift was won by Stawell Gift 3rd place getter Andrew McCabe from local athlete Joel Bee and Victorian Stawell finalist Ben Weaver 4th.

McCabe won $15,000 first prize.

Victorian State 100m champion, 16 year old Sophie Taylor had a big day winning the 70m Open and later, winning her second consecutive Ballarat women's 120m.

The Foxes cleaned up in the 400's with Nathan Fox winning the backmarkers and wife Patricia winning the frontmarkers.

120m Restricted was won by Matt Wiltshire from Chris Hargreaves and Ben Mispelhorn.

The John Henry stable won the last event of the 2010-2011 season when it stormed home to win its third Ballarat relay. 2nd was the Nick Fiedler stable with Peter Walsh's squad running 3rd. There was a healthy number of 7 teams in the relay.

Incidentally it was the first time a sash has been offered for the relay bringing the Henry stable tally of sashes for the 2010/11 season to 24 and prizemoney of $44,000.

120m Ballarat Gift FINAL
1st Andrew McCabe 5.00m
2nd Joel Bee 5.25m
3rd Ben Weaver 6.75m
4th Adrian Mott 3.75m
5th Paul Cracroft-Wilson 8.25m
6th David Tinney 8.50m
7th Rod Matthews 11.00m
DNS Liam Dooley 6.50m
Time: 12.40s

Last edited by Admin on Sun May 01, 2011 7:11 pm; edited 1 time in total



Ballarat Gift: Bee pipped on line in final
Ballarat Courier
01 May, 2011 01:40 PM

Hometown hero Joel Bee finished second in a photo finish for today's Ballarat Gift final.

Queenslander and Stawell Gift finalist Andrew McCabe (5m) fought hard to catch Bee (5.25m) in the gates.

Fellow Stawell Gift finalist Ben Weaver (6.75m) was third.

Ballarat veteran sprinter Rod Mathews, who won the Ballarat Gift in 2009, was sixth.

Mathews ran off 11 metres and, with Weaver, was one of two fastest qualifiers in the final at Eureka Stadium.

Bendigo teenage sprint sensation Sophie Taylor has defended her Ballarat Women's Gift title in emphatic style.

Taylor, aged 16, burst off the blocks at two-metres to chase down a decorated field that included English Commonwealth Games sprinter Melanie Purkiss (2.75m).

Kendra Hubbart 3.25m was second with Purkiss third.

Ballarat teenager Nadia Domaschenz, who turned 16 today, was fourth, edging out Ballarat's Narelle Lehmann (7m) and Tara Domashenz.

Sophie Taylor 2m
Katie Moore 2.5m
Melanie Purkiss 2.75m
Kendra Hubbard 3.25m
Narelle Lehmann 7m
Tara Domaschenz 8m
Nadia Domaschenz 8m
Sonia Pollard 15.75m

Adrian Mott 3.75m
Andrew McCabe 5m
Joel Bee 5.25m
Liam Dooley 6.5m
Ben Weaver 6.75m
Paul Cracroft-Wilson 8.25m
David Tinney 8.5m
Rod Mathews 11m

Back to top  Message [Page 1 of 1]

Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum