A forum devoted to track events from 60m to the 2 mile. Mainly pro but also news from local, national and international sprint & middle distance competitions.

Log in

I forgot my password


Display results as :

Rechercher Advanced Search

Latest topics
» VRTA Sprinter of the Year Progressive
Today at 10:47 am by JH

» Avondale Heights Results
Yesterday at 10:31 pm by JH

» Stawell Gift Final - where do we stand?
Yesterday at 3:50 pm by ToM

» Avondale Heights bonus race 120m
Yesterday at 12:10 pm by auspro

» Doncaster Gift
Fri Feb 16, 2018 8:53 pm by Mex

» Bendigo now offering parity for womens 120 & 400
Fri Feb 16, 2018 8:47 pm by Mex

» Don Furness
Fri Feb 16, 2018 8:41 pm by Mex

» Australian National Champs 2017 100m RESULTS
Thu Feb 15, 2018 10:07 pm by Admin

» Australian National Champs 2017 400m RESULTS
Thu Feb 15, 2018 9:45 pm by Admin

February 2018

Calendar Calendar

You are not connected. Please login or register

PROTRACK » GENERAL » Burnie New Year’s Day Carnival named the Australian Carnival of the Year

Burnie New Year’s Day Carnival named the Australian Carnival of the Year

Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]



Burnie New Year’s Day Carnival named the Australian Carnival of the Year

Alex Fair
The Advocate
7 Oct 2016,

The Burnie New Year’s Day Carnival has been named the Australian Carnival of the Year for the second time in six years.

The award is determined by the Australian Athletic Confederation, with Burnie adding to the award it also won in 2010.

Burnie finished ahead of other finalists from Ballarat, Gold Coast and Botany Bay.

The Burnie Athletic Club will celebrate the 130th anniversary of the carnival on January 1.

President Ricky Aitken said the award was recognition for a group of hard working volunteers and officials who had worked tirelessly to stage a quality event.

“Not only did we have a quality running program, but we provided eight and a half hours of variety and family entertainment with a comprehensive program of cycling and wood chopping as well,” Aitken said.

However, he acknowledged some of the success of not only his carnival, but the entire Tasmanian Christmas Carnival Series, was down to series promoter Richard Welsh.

“The quality of both male and female athletes Richard was able to attract to the series certainly helped the Burnie Carnival achieve its best crowd for 10 years, with more than 4500 people,” he said.

A highlight of this year’s carnival was the men’s gift.

The gift attracted a quality field of former winners, Stawell Gift winners and Australia’s fastest teenager Jack Hale.

Hale finished a narrow second in the final behind former North-West Coast sprinter John Howe, bringing the large crowd to its feet in what was a thrilling race.

The field for the 1600 metre mile saw Ulverstone’s Doug Hamerlok take out a what was another tight tussle.

Australian 1500 metre champion Ryan Gregson finished a close third in the race with a big run from the scratch mark.

The Tasmanian Christmas Carnival Series will start at Rosebery on December 17.

It will then move to  Latrobe (December 27), Launceston (December 28), Devonport (December 29 and 30), Burnie (January 1), Hobart (January Cool and St Helens (January 21).

Back to top  Message [Page 1 of 1]

Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum