A forum devoted to track events from 60m to the 2 mile. Mainly pro but also news from local, national and international sprint & middle distance competitions.

Log in

I forgot my password


Display results as :

Rechercher Advanced Search

Latest topics
March 2018

Calendar Calendar

You are not connected. Please login or register

PROTRACK » GENERAL » McKinnon Parade - last SA carnival for 2015/2016

McKinnon Parade - last SA carnival for 2015/2016

Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]


At times it seemed a long day and dragged on a bit, however the McKinnon carnival at Pulteney finished up in the best possible way with a cracking run by Matt Fallon in the final race of the SAAL season  - the Thomas Wright Memorial Mile.

Worth $3,300 Fallon became the first athlete to break 4mins on the Pulteney track to win the race. 3-59.21.

Another great feature of the meeting was that four athletes won their first sash.

Vanessa Alvaro - Women's 1600m.

Matt Learhinan - Under 17's 800m.

Isaac Byrnes - Under 14's 400m.

Brian Wilson - 200m Open. Wilson's run off the backmark  - 20.77s off 12m was the sprint performance of the day, although Brett Richards winning a 70m semi final in 7.73s off only 2.75m was pretty impressive.

Richards ended up 3rd in the 70m final behind two teenagers - Jack Norris (5.50m) and Oliver Callahan (6.0m).

Coastals won four races including a very emotional win for Taylah Scapens who suffered an illness keeping her off the track for a couple of years. Winning the Under 20's 400m, it was her first win since 2013.

Congrats to Michael Buckler and his McKinnon Parade stable for a fitting finale for the season.

"Let's Go While We're Young"

2 Pultney dais on Mon Mar 21, 2016 10:13 am


ProTrack Star
ProTrack Star
In addition.....

70m womans - time: 8:50
Lily Micklethwait 7.75
Kelly Symmons 7.75m
Lauren Buchanan 6.5m

70m - time: 7:65
Jack Norris 5.5m
Ollie Callihan 6m
Brett Richards 2.75m

200m woman's
Jess williams 21m
Lynette Viney 9m
Rommi Parham 28m

200m O35
Damien Nicholls 5m
David miller 12m
David Wilczek 15m

200m open - time: 20.76
Brian Wilson 12m
Tim Jonson 17m
Damien Tohl 13m

800m U17
Matt learhinan 50m
Sebastian Jurado 125m
Hunter Window 100m

800m O45 "The reddaway"
Cameron White 110m
Mark Beveridge 20m
Gordon Kanki knight 88m

400m U20 - time: 56.7?
Taylah Scapens 78m
Hamish Buchanan 64m
Corey Cox 30m

400m U14
Isaac Byrnes 32m
Hunter Window 14m
Ethan Draper 24m

1600m Woman's
Vanessa Alvaro 190m
Lauren McHugh 240m
Lisa Roberts 300m

1600m Open time: 3:59.2
Matt Fallon 220m
Matthew Konetschka 160m
Sean Burton 195m

Some fantastic racing yesterday in the lead up to many SA runners heading over for the Stawell gift this weekend. All the best to South Australian athletes competing.

3 Matt Fallon wins the last race of the season on Mon Mar 21, 2016 10:32 am


Because I was running out of time, I submitted a shortened report for the Messenger this week.

Matt Fallon wins the last race of the season

After fifteen carnivals and over 150 races, on Sunday, the SA Athletic League conducted its last race of the season with the prestigious Thomas Wright Memorial Mile at Pulteney Grammar’s athletic oval.

It was the tenth year since Thomas Wright tragically lost his life in a road accident and fittingly the race was won by McKinnon Parade’s Matt Fallon who was a training partner and fellow SANFL umpire with Wright.

Fallon (220m) created a race record becoming the first athlete to break 4mins, running 3mins 59.21secs. Fallon’s stablemate Lachlan Hennig (185m) finished second making it a home club quinella with third going to AFL umpire Sean Burton (195m).

Fallon said of all the sashes he’s won, none meant more than the sash that is adorned with the name of his former mate.

“I have wanted this one for a long time” he said when presented with the sash.

“I was the only one in the race who trained and umpired with Tom.

“I knew they were coming but I just dug deep and gave it everything.”

Coastals’ athletes collected four sashes including the 70m double with Jack Norris (70m Open) and Lily Micklethwaite (70m Women). The Glenelg based club also won the Women’s 200m with Jess Williams and Taylah Scapens won her first race for three years with the Under 20’s 400m.

In the final athletic carnival of the SA Athletic League season, four athletes won their first sash - Brian Wilson (200m Open), Vanessa Alvaro (Women’s 1600m), Matt Learhinan (Under 17’s 800m) and Isaac Byrnes (Under 14’s 400m).

The 800m Over 45’s “The Reddaway”, named in honour of McKinnon Parade stalwart Ian Reddaway who passed away last year was won by Flagstaff’s Cameron White (110m) from McKinnon Parade stablemates Mark Beveridge (20m) and Gordon Kanki-Knight (88m).

Backmarker Damien Nicholls came from a long way back to overtake David Miller and David Wilczek on the line to win the Over 35’s 200m.

The Pulteney Schoolboys 400m was won by Douglas Perrott while the Pulteney Girl’s 400m saw a win to Jessica Sallis.

While for most athletes, the McKinnon carnival was their last meeting for the season, several South Australians will be competing this weekend at the prestigious Stawell Gift carnival.

"Let's Go While We're Young"


I had Jack Norris as 7.65s winning 70m final.


Amended accordingly.

Sponsored content

Back to top  Message [Page 1 of 1]

Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum