A forum devoted to track events from 60m to the 2 mile. Mainly pro but also news from local, national and international sprint & middle distance competitions.

Log in

I forgot my password


Display results as :

Rechercher Advanced Search

Latest topics
» VAL Website
Today at 11:50 am by Ribera

» 2018 Australian Athletics Championships men & women 100m/200m
Yesterday at 7:43 pm by untouchables

» VRTA Sprinter of the Year Progressive
Yesterday at 10:47 am by JH

» Avondale Heights Results
Sat Feb 17, 2018 10:31 pm by JH

» Stawell Gift Final - where do we stand?
Sat Feb 17, 2018 3:50 pm by ToM

» Avondale Heights bonus race 120m
Sat Feb 17, 2018 12:10 pm by auspro

» Doncaster Gift
Fri Feb 16, 2018 8:53 pm by Mex

» Bendigo now offering parity for womens 120 & 400
Fri Feb 16, 2018 8:47 pm by Mex

» Don Furness
Fri Feb 16, 2018 8:41 pm by Mex

February 2018

Calendar Calendar

You are not connected. Please login or register

PROTRACK » Pro Running HISTORY » (1951 Stawell Gift winner) Gerald Hutchinson wins 1955 Warrnambool Gift- 60 years ago

(1951 Stawell Gift winner) Gerald Hutchinson wins 1955 Warrnambool Gift- 60 years ago

Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]


Brilliant burst gives Gift to Hutchinson

The Argus
10th January 1955

Warrnambool,Sunday - IN one of the closest gift finishes ever recorded by The Draper Machine, crack Victorian sprinter Gerald Hutchinson ran seven yards inside even time to win the £160 Warrnambool Gift, at the Friendly Societies Park yesterday.

Hutchinson, from the back mark of 3 yards, won by an official margin of one inch from front-marker M. Gillam (12 yards), with G. D. Clarke (9 yards) three inches away third.

The Draper machine showed only nine inches between the six runners in the final.

Hutchinson's time was 12 seconds, and his run was the best at Warrnambool since John Stoney ran eight yards inside evens to win the Gift in 1950 from scratch.

Hutchinson overhauled the field in the final with about 40 yards to go, but had to produce a great burst to hold the five other runners. It was impossible to pick the winner as the six flashed over the line in the best finish seen at Warrnambool.

There was a sensation in the second semi-final when C. Plozza (8½yd) broke twice and was automatically disqualified. He was subsequently fined £3 by the stewards for an offensive gesture as he left the start.

Gillam made up for his defeat in the Gift by winning the £30 Hopkins Sprint of 75 yards.

Gillam (7¾yd) defeated G. Merriman (5¼yd.) of  Warrnambool, with K. Taylor (5¾yd), of Warrnambool, and K. R. Pike (8¼yd.) dead-heating for third.
Hutchinson, who ran second in his heat, was fined £3 for not-starting in the (75yds) semi-final.

Back to top  Message [Page 1 of 1]

Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum