A forum devoted to track events from 60m to the 2 mile. Mainly pro but also news from local, national and international sprint & middle distance competitions.

Log in

I forgot my password


Display results as :

Rechercher Advanced Search

Latest topics
» Stawell Gift Final - where do we stand?
Today at 10:08 pm by thecrimsonflash

» Bunbury Gift entries close 9th of April
Today at 2:37 pm by Pro Pasto

» Past "Bill Howard Winners"
Yesterday at 5:23 pm by Todd Ireland

» Stawell Accommodation Available 3km from the track
Yesterday at 11:59 am by timrosen35

» Euroa Results
Sat Mar 17, 2018 10:43 pm by JH

» Adjusted times
Sat Mar 17, 2018 2:07 pm by Fast

» Euroa Gift
Fri Mar 16, 2018 9:36 pm by Bang bang

» Doncaster Gift
Wed Mar 14, 2018 3:22 pm by HarryWho

» New Massage Business in Bayside Melbourne
Wed Mar 14, 2018 2:01 pm by Foles

March 2018

Calendar Calendar

You are not connected. Please login or register

PROTRACK » SAAL RESULTS » Sam Osmond Returns to Winner's List - Port Adelaide Review 2015

Sam Osmond Returns to Winner's List - Port Adelaide Review 2015

Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]


Sam Osmond Returns to the Winner's List

Grange beach sprinter Sam Osmond’s persistence paid off on Saturday when he won his first sash for four years, taking out the Port Adelaide Gift at the Alan Iverson Reserve.

The Flagstaff Hill footballer’ last win was the 2011 Junior Bay Sheffield having suffered a number of setbacks since.

“It’s been the first time for a while I’ve finished a footy season injury free” Osmond said.

“This is the best I’ve felt since 2011; regular training has made all the difference”.

The Peter Burdett coached Osmond (9.25m) won by 1.5m from novice athlete Brian Wilson (7m) and Lewis Abdul (7.25m) in 12.57secs.

Osmond’s stable mate Abdul recorded the fastest semi-final time but broke at the start of the final to incur a one metre penalty.

In contrast to Osmond, the Women’s 120m Gift winner, Katie Jury’s wait between sashes was only 7 months. Jury won the Flagstaff Hill 120m in March and on Saturday from her mark of 12.50m she held on by 10cm to beat the backmarker Lynette Viney (5.5m) and West Beach’s Ali Trewartha (10.75m) in 14.28secs.

In a relatively small field of only 7 athletes, McKinnon Parade’s Robert Kane won the 550m Open from Andrew Buttery (85m) and Richard McMahon (82m) in 1min 11.29secs.

Self-trained Bridgid Connolly (38m) won her first 550m sash since the 2010 Bay Sheffield carnival beating home Katherine Robb (36m) and Teagan Kustermann (42m) in 1min 21.78secs.

Camden’s Chad Truscott (255m) returned from SANFL umpiring duties to win the 1600m in 4min 10.74secs. McKinnon Parade’s Matthew Konetschka (140m) and Flinders’ Jordan Harvey (140m) filled the minor placings.

John LeRay coached the trifecta in the 300m Novice with Czenya Cavouras (56m) too good for the father/son combination of Peter (48m) and Joshua Biggs (36m).

In the easiest win of the night, Max Hagicostas (6.75m) had over 4 metres to spare to win his first sash in the Under 14’s 120m. The “bookends” Noah Le Sage Kightley (running off scratch) and Hunter Window (22m) were 2nd and 3rd.  

Impact Squad’s Lachlan Burrows scored a rare double winning the Under 20’s 550m and the Under 17 Boys’ 300m adding to the Flinders 800m he won last week. Burrows and Coastals’ Hunter Rubino finished in the first two for the third Under 20’s race in succession.

State All Schools Under 14 sprint champion Molly Farmer (10m) swept the field to brilliantly win the Under 17 Girl’s 300m from the Gary Thompson trained pair of Caitlin Stallan (16m) and Ryelie McMullan (14m).

In the Over 35’s 120m, four athletes had to be separated by a photo with Ben Martin (11m) getting the judge’s verdict from Graham Henderson (27m) and Peter Biggs (10m) to win his second sash in a month having won the Henley 120m. Meanwhile the Over 35’s 1600m was won by Geoff Troiano from Lisa Davis and Peter Brennan.

"Let's Go While We're Young"

Back to top  Message [Page 1 of 1]

Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum