A forum devoted to track events from 60m to the 2 mile. Mainly pro but also news from local, national and international sprint & middle distance competitions.

Log in

I forgot my password


Display results as :

Rechercher Advanced Search

Latest topics
» VAL CALENDAR 2017/2018
Wed Aug 16, 2017 4:03 pm by youngy

Tue Aug 08, 2017 10:33 am by AussiePro

» Bridge of Allan Highland Games
Mon Aug 07, 2017 3:08 pm by JH

» Stand Up Comedy debut
Wed Aug 02, 2017 3:16 pm by youngy

» St Andrews (Scotland)
Tue Aug 01, 2017 11:42 am by JH

» Mull Highland Games.
Fri Jul 28, 2017 1:57 pm by JH

» Regular VAL runner picked in U/18 Vic Metro AFL team to play WA
Wed Jul 26, 2017 10:16 pm by Willo the Whisp

» Airth(Scotland)
Sun Jul 23, 2017 9:09 am by JH

» Vale.. John Stoney John passed away last wednesday and his funeral will be held today in Albury
Fri Jul 21, 2017 12:50 pm by Jack Stoney

August 2017

Calendar Calendar

You are not connected. Please login or register

PROTRACK » TAL RESULTS » 15-year-old Russell Taib wins his fourth TAL race

15-year-old Russell Taib wins his fourth TAL race

View previous topic View next topic Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]



Schoolboy sprinter Taib, 15, in gift win

The Examiner
Jan. 6, 2014

FIFTEEN-year-old Hobart sprinter Russell Taib recorded his fourth Tasmanian Athletic League victory of the season by taking out the men's 100-metre gift at the Bikes 'n' Spikes carnival at Newtown yesterday.

The Hutchins student, trained by Damian Lawler, ran off a mark of 5m and broke the tape ahead of Launceston's Mitchell Gowan (6.5m), with Hobart's Jesse Usoalii third off 1.25m.

Taib's winning time was 10.84 seconds.

Another Hobart teenager in Caitlin Newson took out the women's gift as the backmarker of 2.25m in a time of 12.56.

The 17-year-old beat home Victorian Claire Thiele (11.25m) and Hobart's Lauren Gorringe off 5m.

The open 800m went to Hobart runner Darren Brown off 120m, in a time of 1:54.48, from Northdown's Alec Thomas, the backmarker off 40m, and Burnie's Jacqui Dalwood off 130m.

Hobart's Luke Whitney (23m) won the men's 300m from Jarrod Gilroy (19m) and Jordan Englund (20m) in 34.89.

The women's 300m went to Sandy Loring (23m) from Michelle Davis (20m) and Nicole Perry (19m) in 41.26.

The maiden 100m winner was Tasmanian long jump champion Brandon Clarke.

In the cycling, Launceston's Matthew Nicholson took out the men's wheelrace from Hamish Youl and West Australian rider Stephen Hall.

Launceston's Belamie Flint was the women's wheel winner from Janelle Smith and Jessica Beamish.

German cyclist Marcel Barth won the A-grade scratch race from Hall.The Hobart carnival program was shortened because of threatening rain.

View previous topic View next topic Back to top  Message [Page 1 of 1]

Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum