A forum devoted to track events from 60m to the 2 mile. Mainly pro but also news from local, national and international sprint & middle distance competitions.

Log in

I forgot my password


Display results as :

Rechercher Advanced Search

Latest topics
» Geelong Results
Today at 12:40 am by JH

» Avondale Heights Results
Fri Feb 23, 2018 1:08 pm by Ribera

Fri Feb 23, 2018 12:17 pm by racingmania

» Geelong Men's Gift
Thu Feb 22, 2018 9:13 pm by El Chapo Guzman

» Stawell Gift Final - where do we stand?
Wed Feb 21, 2018 10:02 am by YETI

» NSWAL Website is down. Corowa scheduled for this weekend.
Tue Feb 20, 2018 9:49 am by Admin

» VAL Website
Tue Feb 20, 2018 9:47 am by Admin

» 2018 Australian Athletics Championships men & women 100m/200m
Sun Feb 18, 2018 7:43 pm by untouchables

» VRTA Sprinter of the Year Progressive
Sun Feb 18, 2018 10:47 am by JH

February 2018

Calendar Calendar

You are not connected. Please login or register

PROTRACK » Pro Running HISTORY » Ken Richardson wins 1971 Queanbeyan Gift

Ken Richardson wins 1971 Queanbeyan Gift

Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

1 Ken Richardson wins 1971 Queanbeyan Gift on Sun Nov 24, 2013 12:40 am


Richardson wins sprint event

The Canberra Times
15th Nov 1971

Ken Richardson, of Kiama, off a startling 14 1/2yards, won the 130-yard Queanbeyan Leagues Club Gift and the $250 purse on Saturday afternoon at Seiffert Oval, Queanbeyan.

Richardson beat Chris Sorenson, of Panania, off 13 yards, by a yard and a half, and Greg Arncman, North bridge, 12 yards, by two yards, in a final in which he was never really troubled.

He had eliminated the pre-post favourite, Dave Irvine, of Casula, off scratch, in the fifth heat. Irvine, the only scratch runner in the huge 80-plus field, had no show against Richardson, in blinding form and off the second longest mark of the day. Richardson won his semi final holding in so tight it appeared he had knocked up.

Irvine proved his real ability when he won the $50 NSW 130-yard Championship from the gift winner of the past two seasons, Dave Pittman, of Bankstown, who had Irvine under strong challenge 40 yards out but faded to third behind Reg Austin (K. Heights).

The big 440-yard fields were despatched with great efficiency and the finals re sulted in three good races although they took longer to organise at the start line.

Won third , division H. Kirk won the third division from Coonabara bran team - mate and brother T. Kirk and G. Metcalf, Liverpool. The second-division final went to K. Gentles, Fairfield, who mowed down the field from well back. Second was B. Pratt, Liverpool, and S. Kent, Bankstown. The first went to I. Rich ards, Dundas, from B. Haagsma, Bondi, and D. Pittman, Villawood.

The mile was won by R. Robinson, Revesby, off 100 yards, from G. Newlands (T. Hills, 210), and K. Fitzgerald (Victoria, 40).

Regular winner Lynne Austin won the women's rolling pin throw. Other novelty events were a relay between Group 8 rugby league referees and coaches, won by the whistlers, and a goal-kicking competition, won by Alan Gerrard, South Sydney.

It was only here that the organisation could be criticised. Goal kicks are enthralling during a game when a decision may rest on one, but when a succession of anonymous kickers is competing in a formless contest and there is no identification or explanation they can be deadly dull.

For the rest it was hard to understand why the colourful meeting attracts so few people apart from the athletes and their connections.

Back to top  Message [Page 1 of 1]

Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum