A forum devoted to track events from 60m to the 2 mile. Mainly pro but also news from local, national and international sprint & middle distance competitions.

Log in

I forgot my password


Display results as :

Rechercher Advanced Search

Latest topics
» VAL CALENDAR 2017/2018
Wed Aug 16, 2017 4:03 pm by youngy

Tue Aug 08, 2017 10:33 am by AussiePro

» Bridge of Allan Highland Games
Mon Aug 07, 2017 3:08 pm by JH

» Stand Up Comedy debut
Wed Aug 02, 2017 3:16 pm by youngy

» St Andrews (Scotland)
Tue Aug 01, 2017 11:42 am by JH

» Mull Highland Games.
Fri Jul 28, 2017 1:57 pm by JH

» Regular VAL runner picked in U/18 Vic Metro AFL team to play WA
Wed Jul 26, 2017 10:16 pm by Willo the Whisp

» Airth(Scotland)
Sun Jul 23, 2017 9:09 am by JH

» Vale.. John Stoney John passed away last wednesday and his funeral will be held today in Albury
Fri Jul 21, 2017 12:50 pm by Jack Stoney

August 2017

Calendar Calendar

You are not connected. Please login or register

PROTRACK » Pro Running HISTORY » Cyril Mears wins 1947 Queanbeyan Gift

Cyril Mears wins 1947 Queanbeyan Gift

View previous topic View next topic Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

1 Cyril Mears wins 1947 Queanbeyan Gift on Sun Nov 24, 2013 12:14 am




The Canberra Times
24th Feb 1947

Gaining a break from the starting holes and holding the opposition with only ten yards to go, Cyril Mears, of Queanbeyan, won the Monaro Gift of £70 at the Queanbeyan Diggers' Carnival on Saturday night.

Top flight professional runners  from Sydney and surrounding districts contested the event. Mears covered the 120 yards in 11.4 seconds on a holding track and will become one of the favourites for the Canberra Gift on March 15.

The carnival, which combined cycling and footrunning events, attracted more than 1000 people. Ace track cyclists from Sydney produced a high standard of riding on the floodlit track.

The Monaro race of one mile was won by J. Crowe, of Cootamundra with T. Furlonger, of Queanbeyan, second, and S. Hannan, of Sydney third.


Monaro Gift:
First heat: C. Mears 1, Brodie 2, Woods 3. Time 11.2 secs.

Second heat: O'Brien 1, Kearney 2 Ford 3. Time, 11.4 secs.

Final: Mears 1. Steedman 2, Ford 3. Time 11.4 secs.

Monaro Sprint, 75 yards: O'Brien 1 Brodie 2, Steedman 3. Time, 7.5 secs

Consolation Sprint: Bowering 1 Tyldsley 2, Evans 3. Time 10.2 secs

Consolation Sprint: McEwen 1, Mathers 2, Smith 3. Time 9.5 secs.

View previous topic View next topic Back to top  Message [Page 1 of 1]

Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum