A forum devoted to track events from 60m to the 2 mile. Mainly pro but also news from local, national and international sprint & middle distance competitions.

Log in

I forgot my password


Display results as :

Rechercher Advanced Search

Latest topics
» Ararat Gift
Today at 7:24 pm by Mex

» Northcote Women’s winners handicap
Today at 3:34 pm by FortySevenThirty

» Northcote results
Today at 11:18 am by Todd Ireland

» Northcote Gift
Sat Dec 09, 2017 7:52 pm by untouchables

» Northcote Womens 100m
Sat Dec 09, 2017 3:23 pm by Thatsthestats

» Bay Sheffield Novice and Restricted race eligibility
Fri Dec 08, 2017 4:54 pm by Admin

» Mort Daly Running Foundation 120m Women Poll
Thu Dec 07, 2017 9:51 am by youngy

» Pre Bay 120m Mort Daly Gift POLL
Thu Dec 07, 2017 9:48 am by youngy

» Pre Bay Gift meet HANDICAPS - Sunday 10th Dec 2017
Tue Dec 05, 2017 10:03 pm by youngy

December 2017

Calendar Calendar

You are not connected. Please login or register

PROTRACK » Pro Running HISTORY » McLachlin wins 1972 Queanbeyan Gift

McLachlin wins 1972 Queanbeyan Gift

View previous topic View next topic Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

1 McLachlin wins 1972 Queanbeyan Gift on Sun Nov 24, 2013 12:05 am



McLachlin first in gift final

The Canberra Times
Monday 13th Nov 1972

Sydney runner Mal McLachlin outran a strong field to win the $1,000 Queanbeyan Leagues Club Gift over 130yd at Seiffert Oval yesterday.

Chris Sorenson, of Panama, was second and Colin Baker, of Liverpool, third.

McLachlin won his heat of the event in 12.1s from Brian McGrath, of Albury. 'He entered the race last year but did not win his heat and was therefore ineligible for the final. McLachlin finished the event today in 12.3s.

Queanbeyan runner Gabe Very was unlucky to be penalised one metre for jumping the gun at the start of the event. Very was favourite for the race and the penalty may have cost him a major placing. He finished fourth.

The only other Queanbeyan representative in the race was D. McKay.

The six finalists for the gift were Mal McLachlin, R. Carver, of Erminglon, Gabe Very, Chris Sorenson, Colin Baker and D McKay of Queanbeyan.

The starters were introduced before the event to the Queanbeyan Floral Festival Queen Miss Marjorie Genvink, the Rotary Princess, Miss Anne Mumford and the organiser of the event, Mr Don Furner.

The gusty wind made it "hard for the many entrants in the goal-kicking contest.

It was won by Jim Myers, of Western Suburbs, who kicked two out of three attempts.

VFL League Brownlow Medallist Len Thompson entered the 400m but finished well back in his heat. He did not contest the $1,000 gift.

View previous topic View next topic Back to top  Message [Page 1 of 1]

Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum