PROTRACK

A forum devoted to track events from 60m to the 2 mile. Mainly pro but also news from local, national and international sprint & middle distance competitions.

I forgot my password

Search

Display results as :

Rechercher Advanced Search

October 2017
MonTueWedThuFriSatSun

Calendar Calendar

You are not connected. Please login or register

PROTRACK » GENERAL » Mike Hurst retires after 40 years as a sports journalist

Mike Hurst retires after 40 years as a sports journalist

View previous topic View next topic Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

Admin

Admin
Admin
Top athletics writer Mike Hurst retires after 40 years as a journalist

Mike Hurst
The Daily Telegraph
July 21, 2012

THROUGHOUT my 40 years as a journalist, I approached my work as a career rather than a job and I lived the lifestyle of so many of the people I wrote about.

When I reported tennis, I took tennis lessons; when I wrote about athletics I passed formal coaching certificates; when I covered footy I drank at the Maroubra Bay Hotel and trialled on the wing with the mighty Wombats.

How some athletes win is anybody's guess and I've taken a stab a few times at trying to explain the physiology and biomechanics of it all, but the psychology has always been the X factor.

How can one explain the phenomenal success of Cathy Freeman, who was always the shortest in the field but stood tallest on the podium at the world games and Olympics?

Along with fellow Olympic medallists Maureen Caird (1968 100m hurdles gold) and Raelene Boyle (triple Olympic silver medallist), Cathy was great fun to be around, except perhaps on race day.

Darren Clark (44.38sec) and Maree Holland (50.24sec) were the most fun of any Aussie athletes I've known.

I had the honour of coaching both to set Australian records for the 400m on the way to reaching their respective finals at the 1988 Olympic Games in Seoul.