A forum devoted to track events from 60m to the 2 mile. Mainly pro but also news from local, national and international sprint & middle distance competitions.

Log in

I forgot my password


Display results as :

Rechercher Advanced Search

Latest topics
» Stawell Gift Final - where do we stand?
Today at 8:13 pm by YETI

» Past "Bill Howard Winners"
Today at 5:23 pm by Todd Ireland

» Stawell Accommodation Available 3km from the track
Today at 11:59 am by timrosen35

» Euroa Results
Yesterday at 10:43 pm by JH

» Adjusted times
Yesterday at 2:07 pm by Fast

» Euroa Gift
Fri Mar 16, 2018 9:36 pm by Bang bang

» Doncaster Gift
Wed Mar 14, 2018 3:22 pm by HarryWho

» New Massage Business in Bayside Melbourne
Wed Mar 14, 2018 2:01 pm by Foles

» Interstate Women’s Marks
Tue Mar 13, 2018 7:23 pm by Thatsthestats

March 2018

Calendar Calendar

You are not connected. Please login or register

PROTRACK » GENERAL » 'Gift Winners' Gift at Stawell to be hotly contested

'Gift Winners' Gift at Stawell to be hotly contested

Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]



Gift winners lining up

Stawell Times
27 Mar, 2012

STAWELL - The winners of the biggest Gift meetings on the Australian calendar are set to compete at the Australia Post Stawell Gift this Easter, following confirmation of the line up for the 2012 Stawell Gold Mines Gift Winners' Gift.

One of the feature races on the Gift carnival program, the invitational field will include 2011 Australia Post Stawell Gift winner Mitch Williams, defending title holder Jordan Caldow (Bay Sheffield Gift), Chris Hargreaves (Queanbeyan Gift), David Tinney (Ballarat Gift), Matthew Eddy (Maryborough Gift), Alex Carew (Gippsland Gift), John Nicolosi (Stonnington Gift) and Burnie Gift winner Brendan Cole, who earlier this month booked his ticket to the London Olympics in the 400 metre hurdles.

The race is set to be fiercely contested with the deserving winner of the 2012 Stawell Gold Mines Gift Winners' Gift to walk away with $5000 in prize money.

The Stawell Gold Mines Gift Winners' Gift will be staged on Monday (finals day), after the final of the 2012 Australia Post Stawell Gift. Run over 120 metres, all competitors will start on their allocated handicap at the time of the Easter carnival.

Introduced in 2010, the inaugural title was won by 2009 Australia Post Stawell Gift winner Aaron Stubbs.

In 2011 it was Bay Sheffield Gift winner Jordan Caldow who was first across the line.

Reigning Australia Post Stawell Gift winner Mitch Williams is looking forward to not only defending his title, but also competing against the other victors in the Stawell Gold Mines Gift Winners' Gift.

"Stawell is one of my favourite events to run in and I'm looking forward to the competition," Williams said.

"My form is really good at the moment.

"I've had one week off so I'll be running really well by Easter. It would be great to defend my title in the main race at Stawell but I think my handicap might be quite hard.

"I've been doing a lot more track work since winning the Gift in 2011 and I'm hoping to make the Australian (4x100m) relay team this year. I really want to run a 10.20 time on the track and that's my goal for 2012," he concluded.

Back to top  Message [Page 1 of 1]

Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum