A forum devoted to track events from 60m to the 2 mile. Mainly pro but also news from local, national and international sprint & middle distance competitions.

Log in

I forgot my password


Display results as :

Rechercher Advanced Search

Latest topics
» Brighton Open Gift
Today at 9:00 am by safrican

» Queanbeyan Gift overcomes small field and lower prizes, produces exciting final
Today at 7:32 am by Admin

» Ararat Gift
Yesterday at 4:03 pm by GLPR

» Brighton (SAAL) HANDICAPS - 17th Dec 2017
Yesterday at 2:28 pm by Admin

» Brian Wilson rewarded for going the extra distance (PreBay Gift review)
Yesterday at 10:35 am by Admin

» Northcote Women’s winners handicap
Mon Dec 11, 2017 3:34 pm by FortySevenThirty

» Northcote results
Mon Dec 11, 2017 11:18 am by Todd Ireland

» Northcote Gift
Sat Dec 09, 2017 7:52 pm by untouchables

» Northcote Womens 100m
Sat Dec 09, 2017 3:23 pm by Thatsthestats

December 2017

Calendar Calendar

You are not connected. Please login or register

PROTRACK » SAAL RESULTS » Long-Scafidi wins back-to-back

Long-Scafidi wins back-to-back

View previous topic View next topic Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

1 Long-Scafidi wins back-to-back on Tue Dec 06, 2011 8:48 am



CLASSIC FINISH: The 2011 RSL Mount Gambier Classic
producing a stunningly close result (from left) Dylan Hicks
(6th), Chris Hargreaves (2nd), Ben Koschade (3rd), Corey
Baker (5th), James Cibich (4th) and Wallace Long-Scafidi (1st).

Long-Scafidi wins back-to-back

Border Watch
06 Dec, 2011

Twenty-one year sprinter, Wallace Long-Scafidi emulated the 2005-06 efforts of Keith Sheey when he beat a gun field in the $10,000, 120 metre footrace at Vansittart Park.

Last year, Long-Scafidi won the Classic off a 7.50m handicap in a time of 12.54 seconds.

On Saturday he was even more impressive winning in 12.46 seconds off a 5.50m mark.

Touted as one of the pre-race favourites, Long-Scafidi lived up to his star billing with three stunning runs en route to the $7000 first prize.

Long-Scafidi ran the second quickest qualifing heat, winning in 12.45 seconds to firm even shorter in the Classic market.

Other heat winners included Corey Baker (12.65 seconds off 7m), Ryan Hancock (12.64, 9.50m), Ben Koschade (12.54, 7.25m), Chris Hargreaves (12.53, 8.25m) and the quickest, Dylan Hicks (12.40, 9.75m).

Of those heat winners, only Hancock failed to make it to the final running third behind Long-Scafidi and James Cibich in the second of three semi-finals.

Long-Scafidi was by far the most impressive semi-final winner, stopping the clock at 12.37 seconds, well ahead of Chris Hargreaves (12.53) and Corey Baker (12.58).

A lot of the hype pre-carnival centred around former Bay Sheffield winners, Todd Bateman and Clay Watkins, listed as the Classic's two backmakers off 3.25m and 3.75m respectively.

Bateman finished equal third in his heat which gave him a semi-final start, only to finish third behind Chris Hargreaves and Ben Koschade and his day was done.

Watkins could not get in the first three in his heat, struggling to overcome the 4.5m deficit he conceded to heat winner, Chris Hargreaves or the two outmarkers, David Gross (10m) and Craig Foley (12m).

Aside of Long-Scafidi, three other former Mount Gambier Classic winners were listed to run on Saturday.

Matthew Callard, winner of the 2002 edition finished outside the placings in his qualifying heat, as did 2004 champion, Andrew Steele, while 2009 winner, Shaun Hargreaves failed to line-up in Heat 3 (the same race as Long-Scafidi) after pulling up sore in the 70m handicap earlier in the programme.

View previous topic View next topic Back to top  Message [Page 1 of 1]

Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum